Cart 0
Oklahoma Academic Advising Association

About OACADA

headshot-placeholder-horizontal.jpg

Our Mission

Helping Advisors Become Their Best Since 1992

The purpose of the Oklahoma Academic Advising Association is to gain recognition for academic advising and to support the development and professional growth of academic advisors in higher education in Oklahoma. OACADA serves a constituency which includes academic advisors, counselors, faculty members, administrators, and others in academic and student affairs concerned with the intellectual, personal, and vocational needs of students. OACADA is the representative and advocate of academic advisors in both public and private institutions and is a forum for discussion, debate, and the exchange of ideas.

The official bylaws were most recently updated June 3, 2019.

 

Steering Committee 

Kristal Soderstrom Junkens - President

Oklahoma State University
kristal.junkens@okstate.edu

President-Elect - Vacant (Position Description)

Chris Jeffries - Past President

University of Oklahoma
cjeffries@ou.edu

 

Cheryl Serna - Treasurer

Southern Nazarene University
cserna@mail.snu.edu

 

Krystle Dick - 2-Year Representative

Oklahoma State University OKC
kroot@osuokc.edu

 

Karen Davis - Regional Representative

University of Central Oklahoma
kdavis49@uco.edu

 

Megan Denney - Oklahoma Liaison to Region 7

University of Oklahoma
mdenney@ou.edu

 

Communications Chair - Vacant (Position Description)


Nominations currently undergoing review.

 

Brandy Gunter-Cox - Website Chair

University of Oklahoma
brandy.n.gunter@ou.edu

 

Sarah Ayres - Member-at-Large

Oklahoma State University
sarah.ayres@okstate.edu

 

Tennent Emmons - Member-at-Large

University of Oklahoma
temmons@ou.edu

Jessie Youngblood - Secretary

University of Oklahoma
Jessie.Youngblood@ou.edu

 

Chris Borthick - Liaison Coordinator

Oklahoma City Community College
Christopher.E.Borthick@occc.edu

 

Tami Barrett - Private Representative

University of Tulsa
tami-barrett@utulsa.edu

 

Matthew Grover - 4-Year Comprehensive Representative

University of Oklahoma
magrover@ou.edu

 

Holly Thomas - Professional Standards and Development Chair

University of Oklahoma
hthomas@ou.edu

 

Membership Chair - Vacant (Position Description)


Nominations currently undergoing review.

 

Tosha Stout - Member-at-Large

Connors State College
tosha.stout@connorsstate.edu

 

Kristen Queen - Member-at-Large

Oklahoma State University
kcannad@okstate.edu